Let the hunting begin

Well hunting season is around the corner if not already. Just depends on where you live. We are in the mist of dove and some waterfowl seasons. Deer season opens next month and I have a house full of hunters.
Yesterday my youngest finally went on his first hunting trip with a friend and his father. They went Teal (a breed of duck) hunting near Cathedral Caverns here in Alabama. Between the three of them they shot 10 but were only able to find 8. I told him before I dropped him off that he was going to have to learn how to clean the animal. I was pleased to see that he learned how to clean the animal and that he seemed to enjoy it. Justin had a blast.

Justin and William cleaning their animals

Later that day Tanner decided he wanted to go and watch for deer in his hunting area on Monte Sano on a friends property. I bought him some crushed acorns so he had a good reason to get out and see what he might be able get this coming season (October for Alabama). Counting does, fawns he finally came across this nice buck.

This buck might just be a six - eight pointer. We can't really tell at this angle.

I can’t wait to see what they are able to shoot. I’m sure the other two (David and Austin) are salivating at the sight of that one. Tanner has called dibs on this particular buck. Let’s see if he gets him.

About agritsblog2011

Hi this is Amy at A GRITS BLOG. I am married to a wonderful man, together we have four boys, young men. We live in Alabama and I love being Southern. I have many interests from outdoor activities to painting furniture and designing with vinyl. I craft, sew, organize (well at least I try too), repair things, just a gambet of task really. I believe I can do anything I set my mind too or convince my husband to do. I hope you enjoy many of the topics that I cover and discover.
Gallery | This entry was posted in The boys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let the hunting begin

  1. Marsha says:

    Boy, you are busy. There is a lot of information here. thanks.

Leave a Reply

