Update my end tables.

Well I decided to do a mixture of both staining and painting.  I have actually enjoyed doing these tables and so far I am loving how they are looking. 

 

So here is the beginning of what I have started.  I still have the underside to paint green.  I’m undecided whether or not to glaze it then topcoat it.

 When I did the stain (Rustoleum Kona) for the table top and shelf I didn’t remove a most of the stain so it would be a deep rich color against the vibrant green paint.  I also didn’t stain the back side of the legs since I wouldn’t wear down the paint in the area.  I stained the outside of the legs and support (which eliminated me from using a glaze), then I painted the legs and support in the green color.  The paint I used is color matched to Martha Stewart Living’s Mossy Rock (MSL103).  Oh yeah and this is ultra flat paint. 

So here are my tables all done.  For the last leg of the painting project I used Rustoleum’s Ultimate Polyurethane with Soft Touch Matte finish as a topcoat.  I absolutely love the matte finish.  Now WARNING please read your label as some stains and paints canNOT be covered in Polyurethane. 

 The top of the table shows slight rich wood grain and the topcoat declares resists fingerprints and smudges. We shall see!!!

About agritsblog2011

Hi this is Amy at A GRITS BLOG. I am married to a wonderful man, together we have four boys, young men. We live in Alabama and I love being Southern. I have many interests from outdoor activities to painting furniture and designing with vinyl. I craft, sew, organize (well at least I try too), repair things, just a gambet of task really. I believe I can do anything I set my mind too or convince my husband to do. I hope you enjoy many of the topics that I cover and discover.
This entry was posted in DIY - Furniture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

