My studio…what a mess!

So with my crazy hectic schedule my studio suffers. Back in OctoberThe studio being delivered. I purchased a small 10′ x 20′ metal building now known as my Studio. Before the studio my dining room and dining room table were taken over by my vinyl and crafting supplies. Half the dining room had my desk, computer and vinyl cutter and the other half had my table covered in vinyl rolls. I didn’t take a picture of that mess, it was a little embarrassing. So before we could have Christmas in my house I needed to get my “stuff” out.

So we hurried to get all of it into the studio before we had finished it off.  I figured we can do that later when it gets warmer (I am beginning to dread that decision).  So it is now March and I have stuff this studio like a loaded potato.

This view is from my desk and as you can see I have put a roll top desk on the left This view is from my desk(had that desk in my dining room and worked from it) and on the right is an old dresser we had for one of my sons I bought a really beautiful french Provincial style dresser for a steal at the local thrift for only $60 (I will post that project when it comes time to redo it).  So I have the roll top stuffed full of gadgets and the dresser has more of the vinyl in it.  Eventually I will have a rack type system to hang my vinyl just haven’t decided what I want.  The table in front is my working surface.  I have bought a self-healing cutting mat to preserve the top.

Again a view from my desk towards the double door entry A view towards the doors(which I absolutely love, to have both doors open while I work) this helps with those large items.  Here you see my husband, a dresser and a stack of pails.  Oh yeah few rolls of vinyl on top of several things.  I’m getting ready to do some decorating on the pails for a Bark for Life event coming up in April.

Here is another view where a chest of drawers is hiding the second door.  The chest I am redoing and will be posted for sale at a later date.

photo3And finally a view of my desk and everything that is on my side.  My desk is a converted kitchen table. I found this table at a man’s house that goes and buys contents of storage units.  I paid $25 for the table.  I think I paint a design on the table eventually just haven’t decided on the design yet.  My 36″ vinyl cutter is on the back wall, along with a hutch cabinet that my neighbor was going to throw out.  Eventually I plan on putting a cabinet over to the left there so that I can store my vinyl.  I’m thinking I want a wine bottle X design.  I have got a lot to clean up and put away so that we can start finishing the walls off with insulation and sheet rock.  I will post pictures and updates as we get through the stages.  Right now I will just work with it the way it is now.

About agritsblog2011

Hi this is Amy at A GRITS BLOG. I am married to a wonderful man, together we have four boys, young men. We live in Alabama and I love being Southern. I have many interests from outdoor activities to painting furniture and designing with vinyl. I craft, sew, organize (well at least I try too), repair things, just a gambet of task really. I believe I can do anything I set my mind too or convince my husband to do. I hope you enjoy many of the topics that I cover and discover.
This entry was posted in The Studio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

